NEW JERSEY WEEKEND TRIP

This past weekend (May 3-5, 2024) my Parents and I spent a weekend in Wildwood, New Jersey. We left Friday May 3 around 9am and spent awhile in Philadelphia with my Sister and her in-laws. I hadn’t seen them since my Sister got married in Morocco a year and a half ago, so it was nice to see them again! We went to lunch and hung out for a few hours. Around 5pm, we left and headed for our Hotel in Wildwood.

Speaking of our Hotel, we stayed at the Biscayne. I am pretty sure we were the only ones in the Hotel! It was kind of divided into sub-buildings and we got a free upgrade. I didn’t see one other person anywhere on the Hotel’s property!

I wish the Weather was better, though. All weekend, it was dreary and rainy. BUT that kind of worked out to my advantage. The next day, Saturday May 4, we went to Breakfast at Sun’z Out Cafe. This was a REALLY FREAKING GOOD Breakfast! I got Scrambled Eggs with Bacon bits mixed in, and Potatoes. The portions were MASSIVE! I booked a Whale Watching excursion out of Cape May, New Jersey. This was EASILY the highlight of my weekend! We saw SO MANY WILD DOLPHINS! It was insane! It was a 2 1/2 hour tour from the Harbor of Cape May into open waters. We saw one Whale towards the end of the Tour, but it was a few hundred feet away and was a little hard to see. BUT the Dolphins more than compensated! We saw Dolphins literally everywhere! AND they were really close to the Boat! I was on Cloud Nine seeing these things in the wild! Having said that, it was FREEZING on the Water!

After the Whale Watching, we walked around the shops in Cape May a little. We drove back to Wildwood and I did the Boardwalk and some of the rides. The downside with this was only one Pier was open and only about half the rides on that Pier were open. So I spent $100 to ride a few rides and walk around the Boardwalk. Most Boardwalk Parks (Coney Island, Morey’s Piers in Wildwood, Santa Monica Boardwalk in California, etc.) are pricey. But it did kind of piss me off that a lot of rides were closed and I spent all that money.

After a few hours on the Boardwalk, we went to Dinner at Lobster House. Like Breakfast, the portions here were MASSIVE! I got Soft Shell Crabs and they were big Crabs! My Mom got a bowl of Chowder and I’m 99% sure it was enough to feed all 3 of us and fill our bellies in one serving! After Dinner, we headed back to the Hotel to sleep.

Today, May 5, we woke up, got packed, and left New Jersey to see my Sister in Philly again. From there, we headed home and concluded our Weekend.

Thanks for reading!

-Tom

Author: AuTom Spectrum Blog

I have Autism and am a self-advocate and public speaker. On the side I do stand-up comedy. I live in Baltimore County and have an AMAZING girlfriend

Leave a comment